The Cirque Du Soleil in Las Vegas

Having never had the opportunity to see a Cirque show, I jumped on the chance when my uncle took us to Las Vegas a few days ago. We had several shows to choose from and ultimately decided on the LOVE show which showcased The Beatles music.

IMAG0021

I was mesmerized from beginning to end. Sadly, I have no pictures of the actual show because flash photography is not allowed since it may cause the performers a distraction that could lead to injury.

One of the things that I loved about the show was how they incorporated some of The Beatles’ mega-hits and some of their lesser heard songs. Tunes such as “While My Guitar Gently Weeps“, “Blackbird”, and “Drive My Car” were mingled in with “I Want to Hold Your Hand”, “Eleanor Rigby” {a.k.a. All the Lonely People}, “Yesterday”, and “A Hard Day’s Night.”

However, it was one of the lesser heard ones that I thrilled at hearing.  “Blackbird” stands out predominately for me because I hadn’t heard it in so long that I’d almost forgotten about its existence.

Another aspect of the show that I loved was how the performance told the story of the era when the song was written as well as the story behind the song. It opened up with a depiction of London on the stage that was within minutes destroyed by the bombings of World War II, then moved on to happier times after the clean up and rebuilding of the city.

From there, they went on to show the pandemonium surrounding what became known as Beatle Mania. The performers put on a high energy show, particularly in the scenes depicting the 1960s. Then shifted to a more mellow vibe when depicting the Vietnam protests of the late 60s- early 70s. Then the performance sped up again toward the end.

I wish I could remember the order of all the songs played as well as the scenes which accompanied them, but alas only key parts stuck with me.

If ever presented with the chance to go see a Cirque Du Soleil show (this or another one), I highly recommend doing so because it is a delightful treat to the senses! 😀

LOVE was done at The Mirage Hotel.

IMAG0022

IMAG0023

 

If you’re in the mood to listen to some of The Beatles now, HERE is a link to a playing of their 20 Greatest Hits. Enjoy! 😀

Share your thoughts!

