Pictures of my travels from Colorado to California (Part 1)

Sorry for the delay, I haven’t had internet access since the hotel I stayed at in Kingman, AZ on the 16th. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Even though my car lacks air conditioning, my trip was surprisingly comfortable with the exception of when I drove through the Mojave Desert. Lol. That may have something to do with the cloudiness of most of my trip and the bouts of rain. ๐Ÿ˜€

After doing a little hiking up to Chasm Lakeย on August 13th (okay, I didn’t make it all the way to the Lake because of hail when I reached the tundra… still I got some good pics), I drove down to see a friend inย Colorado Springs and her new baby. Then spent the night in Pueblo, CO. Not much to show from Pueblo, but here are a few pics from my hike. ๐Ÿ™‚

13Aug13- Hike to Chasm Lake 1913Aug13- Hike to Chasm Lake 3413Aug13- Hike to Chasm Lake 5013Aug13- Hike to Chasm Lake 52

Yep, see that mountain shrouded in cloud? That’s where I was hiking at. Lol.

13Aug13- Hike to Chasm Lake 57

Then when I got back into town this view awaited me. Some freaky looking clouds if you ask me.

13Aug13- Hike to Chasm Lake 62

Then on August 14th I drove from Pueblo, CO, to Albuquerque, NM, with a stop in Las Vegas, NM, for lunch. ๐Ÿ˜€

14Aug13- Pueblo to ABQ 314Aug13- Pueblo to ABQ 614Aug13- Pueblo to ABQ 814Aug13- Pueblo to ABQ 23

Had the best biscuits and gravy at Charlie’s Spic and Span! ๐Ÿ˜€

14Aug13- Pueblo to ABQ 29

The 15th, I drove from Albuquerque to Flagstaff, AZ. And boy was there a shift in scenery!

15Aug13- ABQ to Flagstaff 1115Aug13- ABQ to Flagstaff 1515Aug13- ABQ to Flagstaff 3415Aug13- ABQ to Flagstaff 39- Arizona State Line15Aug13- ABQ to Flagstaff 45

Guess what I sang and hummed for over an hour after seeing the following sign?! Yep, that’s right, The Eagles “Take It Easy”!15Aug13- ABQ to Flagstaff 58- Winslow, AZ 2

The 16th, I began to head toward Kingman, AZ, with a slight detour north to take a peek at the Grand Canyon’s South Rim. ๐Ÿ˜€ I always thought the drive to the Canyon would be desert and primarily treeless, but apparently when you go to the South Rim you go through the Kaibab National Forest.

16Aug13- Flagstaff to Grand Canyon 216Aug13- Flagstaff to Grand Canyon 11

Not sure what was happening on this land, but it looked pretty bad. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

16Aug13- Flagstaff to Grand Canyon 17

I decided to take the park and ride option at the little town of Tusayan. It worked out great, they’ve really got the system streamlined. It’s like a city transit system. And I was greeted by Fred Flintstone along the way, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

16Aug13- Flagstaff to Grand Canyon 34- Tusayan Sign16Aug13- Flagstaff to Grand Canyon 35- Fred Flintsone 1

 

That’s all I have time for today. Part 2 will have Grand Canyon pics and the remainder of my trip to Cali. ๐Ÿ˜€

Share your thoughts!

