The Scrumdiddlyumptiousness of One Peanut Butter Alternative

I’ve always wanted to try Nutella, but never wanted to fork over the $3-4 for a 13 ounce jar. I mean, what if I didn’t like it?!?! Even though I like hazelnuts, I just didn’t want to chance wasting money on a product I might not enjoy. I went shopping on Friday, March 23rd, intent upon finding a cast iron skillet and in the process came across a deal I couldn’t refuse. A Nutella knockoff for $2.50.

While I know better than to go anywhere near food in a store when I’m hungry, I justified the purchase because it was only one food item and I’d be meeting my brother for lunch at CiCi’s Pizza shortly thereafter. Besides, it’s not like I was going to open the jar right then and there to sample it! (Though, admittedly, I was sorely tempted to do just that!)

The label lists the brand as Fresh Finds International with a picture of the Italian flag on it. In fact, the label says, “Made in Italy” on the back side. It doesn’t have a gimmicky name like Nutella, theirs is simply called Cocoa and Hazelnut Spread.

The serving size is two tablespoons, but I think I only used one on my toast. It was love at first bite!

Peanut Butter has been my faithful standby since childhood, but this Hazelnut Spread trumps in every way! Though I have always loved peanut butter, my one complaint has always been that it’s too thick and sticky, clogging up the back of my throat if I eat it too fast. Come to think of it, that sometimes happens even when eating slowly. Conversely, the Hazelnut Spread is light and melty, never choking me with its deliciousness. Of course, adding to the delectability of this product is chocolate in the form of cocoa powder. I know the saying goes, “Diamonds are a girl’s best friend,” but I disagree! Chocolate fits the bill better in my opinion.

This product spreads evenly and tastes fabulous! I highly recommend it! Just writing about it has made me hungry, so I’m going to wander on into the kitchen to make some toast with it. For fun, I’ll snap a few pictures while I’m at it.

I think toast will make an acceptable snack while I wait for dinner to finish heating.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I liked the way this vantage point turned out, it makes the toast look HUGE!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ooey-gooey goodness!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mmmmm…. Hungry yet? 😀

As a side note, persons allergic to peanuts may be allergic to hazelnuts as well. When in doubt, check with your doctor!

The first pic came from BigLots website.

If you want to get creative with hazelnut spreads (no matter the brand you select), an array of recipes can be found HERE.

2 thoughts on “The Scrumdiddlyumptiousness of One Peanut Butter Alternative

  1. Mmmm I love Nutella! But I agree, it’s pretty expensive for the size of the tub. I’ve tried another knock-off version (not the one you show) and it was just as good as the regular. Love it! Especially on a yummy baguette.

Share your thoughts!

