Green Rider- Karigan to the Rescue

Back in 1998, a little book called Green Rider appeared on bookstore shelves in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy section. The cover art as well as the description gracing the back cover of the novel intrigued me, so I immediately bought it. At 471 pages long, I thought, “Oh, this will take me a good week or two to get through.” Yeah… not so much. I couldn’t put it down! I think I read it in three consecutive nights. I love Kristen Britain‘s writing style. Her use of imagery and tone were delightful to read. Perhaps, I should have realized at the end of the book it would be a series, but I actually thought it was a stand alone novel. Several years later, I wondered if she had written any other novels and found she had written a second book! It came out that year (2003). Then, I started thinking, “Okay, so it’ll be a trilogy.” The third one came out four years later and I immediately bought a copy eagerly anticipating the conclusion to the story. So, I was mad when I found a cliff hanging moment at the end of the book making it clear this series may have a few more books to go. The fourth one came out last year and while I recently bought a copy, I’m trying to hold off reading it until it gets a little closer to the fifth one’s release. And when will that be? Who knows… 2015? I just don’t want to feel like I’ve waited forever for it to come out. Maybe I’ll start at the beginning of the series again. 😀

At the heart of this series is Karigan G’ladheon. In book one, we see her as an outsider at school because of her family’s recent addition to the wealthier class. She has a chip on her shoulder, but I don’t think anyone can blame her for that. She puts up with a lot of grief from her classmates… That is until one day, she simply refuses to take anymore. After beating Timas Mirwell in practice swordplay, he challenges her to a duel. Thanks to that duel, Karigan gets expelled from school. Instead of waiting for word to reach her father and for him to come fetch her, she runs away from the school and that’s just the beginning of the adventures in store for her. While on the road, she finds a mysterious messenger dying of his arrow wounds. He pleads with her to deliver his message straightaway to King Zachary. She agrees; in so doing, Karigan finds herself among the hunted.

This series is chock full of ride-by-the-seat-of-your-pants adventure and magic with political intrigue and villainous fiends around every corner. Karigan had no idea what she was getting herself into! At times, she must travel until she literally collapses from exhaustion. One such time, she finds herself in the care of the Berry sisters- two seemingly eccentric women by the names of Bay and Bunch. The way in which Kristen describes their house and the oddities inside it, in particular the items in the study, are some of my favorite bits of imagery in book one!

I would give book one five out of five stars! 😀 I would recommend this series to anyone.

After googling details on Green Rider, I discovered a fan-page dedicated to casting actors for roles should this ever be turned into a movie. I agree with some of the selections made, but some of the others are laughable. It would be cool if someone dedicated to keeping the integrity of the storyline would pick it up for a movie series though!

Share your thoughts!

